Football La Liga Ligue 1 Premier League

Africans who have won the UEFA Champions League

Liverpool stars Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah will be looking to put their names among the Africans who have won the UEFA Champions League in Saturday’s final, while Real Madrid’s Achraf Hakimi could also write his name into the history books. Here are all Africans who have won the competition, including Benni McCarthy.

Liverpool and Los Blancos will meet in the much anticipated final of Europe’s biggest club competition in Kyiv this week, a game the whole footballing world is looking forward to.


19 African stars have won the UCL previously, but on Saturday, the likes of Mane and Salah will be hoping to be added to that list, as well as Joel Matip, even though he is not in the squad for the final, and Real’s Achraf Hakimi.

Former Zimbabwe goalkeeper Bruce Grobbelaar won the tournament with Liverpool in 1984, and became the first African to lift the trophy, while Algeria’s Rabah Madjer won it three years later with FC Porto.


The legendary Abedi Pele celebrated UCL success with French side Marseille in 1993, while former Ajax Amsterdam and Nigeria duo Finidi George and Nwankwo Kanu lifted the title in 1995.

Former Ghana international Ibrahim Tanko won the competition with Borussia Dortmund in 1997, while ex-Los Blancos midfielder Geremi was the first African star to win the tournament twice: in 2000 and in 2002.


Samuel Kuffour was a UCL winner in 2001 with Bayern Munich, before former Bafana Bafana forward McCarthy won the competition with Porto under the management of Jose Mourinho three years later.

The likes of Samuel Eto’o, Seydou Keita and Yaya Toure all won the competition with Spanish giants FC Barcelona, although the former also tasted success in the final with Inter Milan, along with McDonald Mariga and Sulley Muntari.


Incredibly, the Chelsea team that won the 2012 final against Bayern consisted of four African stars. Michael Essien, John Obi Mikel, Salomon Kalou and Didier Drogba all won the UCL that year, while ex-Liverpool defender Djimi Traore also features in the list as a winner.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *